Frequently Asked Questions

What is an online memorial?

Online Memorials are virtual spaces of remembrance, celebration and commemoration for the deceased. At the touch of a button you can revisit the life of a loved one, leave a tribute message, view their life through photographs and videos and connect with family members and friends.

Why should I make an online memorial?

We used to commemorate our loved ones by sharing analogue photo books, home videos and memories with each other. Today, almost all of our photos and videos are created and stored digitally, and our family and friends are spread across the country and the world.

Online memorials are the perfect way to store and share these memories, while bringing everyone together in a collaborative commemoration. Rather than save the images in a personal cloud storage that only you can see, online memorials let you and your family collect your favorite memories, share stories and give your loved one a dignified legacy for generations to come.

How can I create a memorial?

Click on the 'Create Memorial' link at the top right of the page. You'll be asked to input some basic information to get their memorial started. We will then send you an invoice and further instructions via email. The invoice is valid for 7 days. Once payment has been received we will start with your page.

Can I write out my legacy and create my memorial before I die?

We believe that everyone should plan ahead. When you sign up on Living Memorial, you can write out your own biography, create your family tree, and begin uploading your treasured photos and videos. Designate a family member to become your administrator so that when you pass away, they can gain control of your profile and add any other information to keep your memory alive.

How long do memorials stay online?

It depends on the package you selected. The Limited Package is kept online for 1 year. The Lifetime & Deluxe Packages are kept online for a lifetime.

How long does it take to create my Online Memorial page?

It takes 5-7 days once payment has been confirmed for your page to appear on the Living Memorial website. Rush jobs are available if you want the page up sooner (e.g. before a funeral), but an additional fee will be applicable. A rush job takes 24-48 hours.

How long does it take before my Lifetime page appears on Google?

It all depends on Google. It can take 1-3 months before your page appears on Google's organic search listings. In other words, should anyone "google" your loved one's name it will show in Google.

Can I upgrade my account?

Yes you can. You can upgrade your Limited Package to a Lifetime Package by paying the difference between the packages.

Termination / Cancelling Page

Upon suspension, cancellation, or termination of your page or your use of any Service (for whatever reason), there shall be no refund of money you paid to Living Memorial.

Offensive Material

Living Memorial will not post anything that is offensive or in any way brings disrespect to a person's memory. We will also screen all messages before posting them on the Message Board.

What happens if the name I want to use already has a page?

We cannot guarantee that the name you want to use for your URL (web link) will be available. The links are based on a first-come-first-serve basis. Should the link already exist we will try to get the nearest match. However this only applies to the URL link and not the name on the web page itself.

Can I update the content of my page?

Yes you can add more content or edit anything on your page for as long as the page is online. It takes 5-7 working days for any changes to take effect on your page.

Photos Privacy

By submitting photos to the Photo Album you confirm that you have the right to publish & use the photos. You also confirm that you have the permission of anyone else appearing in photos to post it online. We take no responsibility and should we be contacted in case of someone complaining about their face appearing on the website, we will remove the photo and refer the complainent to you.